Reading books should NOT cost money! While this LibGuide serves as a BEST OF book recommendation guide, we also want to make sure that these books are easily accessible for all of our readers. Please use the resources on this page to help you find the books you want. And as always, please don't hesitate to reach out to your librarian.
Sora is the NYCDOE-approved student reading app that provides access to our school collection, our district collection, and the public library collections (currently, you can add Queens Public Library without a library card, but Brooklyn Public Library and NYPL require a card number). In addition to browsing all of the collections, Sora is also an e-reader app. Read & listen to all your books in one place! More info about Sora is available at discoversora.com/nyc!
Tips & Tricks:
Add the public library collections to your Sora account! The NYCDOE Sora collection is over 100,000 ebooks and audiobooks, but adding your public library card gets you access to even more books! Did you know that as a NYC resident, you can apply for all three NYC library branches? Apply for a library card online (if yours is expired or lost, contact the library, or apply for a new card). There are NO FINES or fees associated with e-content from the public library systems.
Sign in with our library credentials to access the Comics PLUS database of comics and graphic novels. Available through August, 2021. Here is a great set of instructions and TOP TEN books from the librarian at MS51.
Get two free downloads each week from AudiobookSYNC! Once you download them, you can listen whenever you wish - they are yours, pretty much forever! Register online here, then download the SORA app to read.